You Can’t Handle It

Posted on November 12, 2011. Filed under: Culture |


Kim Kardashian at the 2009 Tribeca Film Festiv...

Image via Wikipedia

Has anyone ever told you, “God wouldn’t give you something you can’t handle”? I’m not quite sure where I heard this, but it has given me comfort throughout my life. Most recently, I’ve found myself telling…myself…this as I prepare for the reality that my husband will being deploying in a few weeks, leaving me to handle our  home, finances, 15-month-old and giving birth to our second child on my own. “I can handle this. God wouldn’t give me something I can’t handle.”

Over the last couple of weeks our small group has been reading Weird by Craig Groeschel.  The author claims that this phrase does not appear in the Bible.  So I found myself asking, “Why do most Christians (myself included) say that God won’t give us anything we can’t handle?” Is this slogan biblically based, or just Christian mythology?

Take a look at these verses:

“…For the Lord will be at your side and will keep your foot from being snared” (Prov 3:26).

“Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary; they will walk and not be faint” (Isaiah 40:30-31).

“The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me” (Psalm 28:7).

These verses don’t say “give yourself confidence,” “hope in yourself,” or “you have the strength.”  They don’t say to rely on family or friends to help you with all your troubles.  And they certainly do not claim that troubled times won’t come at all. In fact, I can guarantee that life will present you with more than you alone can handle.  Whether it be imprisonment in a Roman jail, struggling to make ends meet in economic downturns, shattered dreams of a Kardashian happily-ever-after or deployments to forsaken countries. God doesn’t want us to focus on ourselves for strength (see commandment #1), we need to turn to Him. He will guide us and provide for us so that we can do the otherwise seemingly impossible.

Paul proclaims in his letter to the Phillippians, “I can do all things in him who gives me strength” (Phil 4:13 ). God gives us strength; we cannot handle everything on our own. So, would God give us something we can’t handle? Absolutely. It would appear that it is in those trying times we should be reminded that we do not need to struggle alone. As Christians, we know we can call on Him to help us. And if God is for us, who or what can be against us? (Romans 8:31)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “You Can’t Handle It”

RSS Feed for the renewed way Comments RSS Feed

That’s an interesting post. It reminds me of something I wrote recently on my blog. Really great stuff you got here. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the compliments

One of the ways He helps is certainly through family and friends.

Absolutely! I was just pointing out that friends and family shouldn’t be our primary source of strength.

Kim w/o makeup…


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 32 other followers

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

